Markets can be soul destroying

I go to markets to sell my handmade items and you know what? They can be soul destroying.
There is nothing worse than paying a small fortune to stand around all day and have barely any sales or any traffic flow, don’t get me wrong I know I need to be out there to be seen however there is nothing worse then spending 7 hours standing around, smiling and saying hello then finishing the day with barely anything to show for it. Everyone who goes to market to sell handmade items knows what I am talking about, you have good days and you have bad days yet sometimes those bad days certainly out way the good ones.
Its tough work going around the market scene, trying to find out what is going to be a hot location for you and its also expensive! It seems the days of spending 20-40 dollars to have a market stall are gone yet besides the internet how do you get seen?
This is the dilemma I am in. I am over standing around just talking to other stall holders with the occasional customer to chat to trying to sell my wares and at times I wonder how much do people appreciate handmade goods.
Ok I get it, my items are not the everyday, draw in lots of customers products such as candles however it is a rather tiresome exercise spending at least one day on the weekend at a market.
The internet for finding markets can be hard work as well, all the normal markets are on there however how do you find the right one for you, how do you locate markets which are a bit more alternative and not so main stream?
For the new year I plan on having a plan of attack, ok my products are very new on the scene, we are talking less than 6 months and I understand that it can take time to build up a customer base and for people to see and remember who you are but in general markets can suck big time.

Leave a Reply

