Handmade a hard sell

There is only one thing in the world that can keep me going, desire!

I have for a long time wanted to be successful, not crazy billionaire successful yet successful enough to be able to support myself, I’ve tried many tatics over the years none of which have been successful however I keep coming back to hand made items. 

Handmade items are the hardest to sell and it’s a balancing act, what will others like not just personal choice, what price should it be? I’m always being told my items are too cheap however an item is only worth what others are willing to pay for it and I don’t want to price myself out of sales. I understand what it takes to make an item, the thought process, cost of materials, labor however if others are not willing to pay the price for me there is no point. Yes I want to make money but you are not always guaranteed a sale.  The world of handmade. I have come to understand that while people appreciate handmade items they are sometimes looking for perfection and in handmade I do not think there is perfection. Not that an item should  fall apart however if you require perfection then perhaps handmade is not for you, see handmade items are unique, special and worth the cost.

Production line items which are mass produced are for some people while other like uniqueness knowing that no one else will have the same piece and that is what makes handmade items so special.

Next time you go to a market or shop with handmade items remember her is not a production line behind these items, yet a real person who loves what they do and outs passion into ever piece.

Leave a Reply

